NHS England Essex Area Team

The Essex Area Team covers the population of 1,800,000 in a large and diverse county, and works in close conjunction with the East Anglia Area Team which provides the commissioning for specialist services and prison health services to the population of Essex.  The team of approximately 80 staff is based in Swift House, Chelmsford.

Within Essex there are 5 acute trusts providing hospital services to the population, 4 community providers, 7 Clinical Commissioning Groups who are responsible for the commissioning of NHS services in the county, Essex County Council and 2 unitary authorities in Southend and Thurrock.  The Area Team also works very closely with all colleagues in primary care, and the Area Team is responsible for the commissioning of primary care services across the county.  There is also close liaison with Healthwatch and the Health and Wellbeing Boards which as part of the newly formed NHS structure are established by the three local authorities in the county.

For more information and contact details click the link: http://www.england.nhs.uk/mids-east/essex-at/